Raised beds

This page looks at six Corona tools with extended handles, using only the specifications that the manufacturer or the product listing publishes. Five of them list a handle length, and one lists only an overall length. Three handles are listed with a range, from the shortest setting to the longest, and two are listed at a fixed 36 in (91 cm). Materials are given for the head on some tools and for the handle on others. Every tool also carries a warranty statement, worded slightly differently from listing to listing. The sections below explain how to read each of those figures before you compare them. No tool here is ranked, because the listed figures describe size and materials rather than performance.

What actually matters

Handle length is the first figure most listings give, and it is stated as a minimum and a maximum. When the two numbers match, as they do for a fixed handle listed at 36 in (91 cm), the tool has one length and no adjustment. When they differ, the handle is listed as adjustable between the two, such as 18 in (46 cm) to 32 in (81 cm).

A longer maximum matters when the distance from where you stand to the far side of the bed is large. A shorter minimum matters when you want to work close in, for example along a near edge. The gap between the two figures is the range of positions the tool can cover. A fixed handle gives up that range, and an adjustable one gives you a choice of lengths.

Check the unit before you compare numbers. Some listings give inches and others give centimeters, so a figure of 86 cm is not larger than one of 36 in (91 cm). The longest setting listed for the metric ExtendaHANDLE tools is 86 cm, or about 34 in, which is shorter than the 36 in fixed handles. The shortest setting on those same tools is 45 cm, about 18 in.

Overall length is a different figure from handle length. It measures the whole tool, so it will be larger than the handle alone. One listing here gives only an overall length of 101.5 cm (about 40 in), so you cannot read a handle length from it. If you set it beside handles listed at 36 in (91 cm), you are comparing two different measurements.

Head material describes what the working end is made of. The listings here use phrases such as heat-treated steel and tempered steel with a protective coating. Those phrases describe a material and a treatment as the manufacturer or listing words them, not a tested result. A coating is stated only for some heads, so its absence from another listing means it was not stated, not that none exists.

Handle material is listed for only three of the six tools. The listings name aluminum for one and steel for two. The listings give no weight figure, so this page does not compare how heavy the tools are. A missing handle material simply means the listing did not state it.

A warranty line is the maker's own promise, and it is worth reading as worded. Three listings describe a lifetime warranty against material and workmanship defects. The shorter wording, simply lifetime warranty, does not say what is covered, so this page cannot say either. A warranty tells you what the maker will address, and it does not describe how long a tool will last in your bed.

Read the figures as a set instead of picking one. A tool with a long handle and a short warranty line is a different choice from one with a short handle and a detailed warranty. Each specification answers one question: how far the tool reaches, what it is made of, or what the maker promises.

Published specifications

Values as published by each manufacturer, cited per product on the date shown in the sources.
Product Handle length maxHandle length minHead materialWarrantyHandle materialOverall length
Corona Extended Reach Hoe/Cultivator with ComfortGEL®1 36 in 36 in heat-treated steel Lifetime warranty against material and workmanship defects Not documented Not documented
Corona Extended Reach 7-Tine Rake with ComfortGEL®2 36 in 36 in heat-treated steel Lifetime warranty against material and workmanship defects Not documented Not documented
Corona ExtendaHANDLE Rake3 32 in 18 in Not documented Lifetime warranty against material and workmanship defects aluminum Not documented
Corona Corona Extendahandle Lightweight Garden Weeder4 86 cm 45 cm tempered steel with protective coating Lifetime warranty steel Not documented
Corona Corona Extendahandle Lightweight Garden Hoe/Cultivator5 86 cm 45 cm tempered steel with protective coating Lifetime warranty steel Not documented
Corona Corona ComfortGEL Extended Reach 2-Prong Weeder6 Not documented Not documented Not documented Lifetime warranty Not documented 101.5 cm

Product notes

Corona Extended Reach Hoe/Cultivator with ComfortGEL®

The manufacturer lists the Extended Reach Hoe/Cultivator with a fixed handle of 36 in (91 cm), so its minimum and maximum are the same. Its head is listed as heat-treated steel. The warranty is described as a lifetime warranty against material and workmanship defects. These figures suit someone who wants one set length rather than an adjustable range.

Corona Extended Reach 7-Tine Rake with ComfortGEL®

Listed at a single handle length of 36 in (91 cm), the Extended Reach 7-Tine Rake gives no adjustment range. The manufacturer names heat-treated steel for the head. Its warranty is worded as lifetime, against material and workmanship defects. Those specifications suit a reader who prefers a fixed length over a range.

Corona ExtendaHANDLE Rake

Between 18 in (46 cm) and 32 in (81 cm) is the handle range the manufacturer lists for the ExtendaHANDLE Rake. The handle material is listed as aluminum. The warranty is a lifetime warranty against material and workmanship defects. This range suits a reader who wants to change the working length between close and distant positions.

Corona Corona Extendahandle Lightweight Garden Weeder

The listing for the ExtendaHANDLE Lightweight Garden Weeder gives a handle range of 45 cm to 86 cm, about 18 in to 34 in. The handle is listed as steel and the head as tempered steel with a protective coating. The warranty is listed as a lifetime warranty, without wording on what it covers. That range suits a reader who wants to shorten the tool for close work and lengthen it for reach.

Corona Corona Extendahandle Lightweight Garden Hoe/Cultivator

The Lightweight Garden Hoe/Cultivator in the ExtendaHANDLE line lists the same handle range, 45 cm to 86 cm (about 18 in to 34 in). Its materials match the weeder's: steel for the handle and tempered steel with a protective coating for the head. The warranty is listed simply as a lifetime warranty. These figures suit a reader who wants an adjustable handle.

Corona Corona ComfortGEL Extended Reach 2-Prong Weeder

Only one length is listed for the ComfortGEL Extended Reach 2-Prong Weeder: an overall length of 101.5 cm, about 40 in. The listing gives overall length and warranty and no handle length or material. The warranty is listed as a lifetime warranty. Because the figure measures the whole tool, it suits a reader who wants to compare total size rather than handle length.

Which one for whom

If you stand at one edge of a wide bed, the figure to read is the maximum handle length. The largest handle figures listed here are 36 in (91 cm) for two fixed handles and 86 cm (about 34 in) for the metric adjustable ones.

If you also work in a narrow bed or along a path, the figure to read is the minimum, because it sets how short the tool can be. The adjustable tools list minimums of 18 in (46 cm) and 45 cm (about 18 in), while the fixed ones have no shorter setting. If more than one person shares the tools, a listed range gives each of them a choice of length, and a fixed handle gives one length to all.

If metal type matters to you, read the head and handle material lines. Heat-treated steel, tempered steel with a protective coating, steel and aluminum all appear in the listings, and each appears only where the listing states it.

If you want to compare the tool that lists only overall length, convert units first and remember it is a different measurement from handle length. The 101.5 cm (about 40 in) overall figure cannot be set directly against a 36 in (91 cm) handle.

If the cover in the warranty matters to you, read its wording rather than the word lifetime alone. Three listings state that the warranty is against material and workmanship defects, and three give only the word lifetime.

If you are comparing two tools, write down the same four figures for each: minimum handle, maximum handle, material and warranty. A blank in one column means the listing did not state it, so it is not a point against the tool. Matching the figure to the job in this way keeps the comparison about measurements, which is all the listings can support.

Setup and use

Compare tools in a single unit before anything else, using 1 in as 2.54 cm. On that basis, 36 in is 91 cm, 32 in is 81 cm and 18 in is 46 cm, all rounded to the nearest centimeter. In the other direction, 86 cm is about 34 in and 45 cm is about 18 in.

If a handle is listed with a range, set it to the shorter end when working close to you and the longer end when reaching. A fixed handle stays at its listed length, so you adjust by changing where you stand instead. For the tool listed by overall length, hold the 101.5 cm (about 40 in) figure against the space you have, since it covers the whole tool.

Use the head and handle material lines to confirm you are comparing like with like. Read the warranty wording on the listing page before you rely on it, since the shorter wordings do not say what is covered. Where a listing leaves a figure blank, treat the figure as not stated rather than assuming a value.

Questions and answers

What is the difference between handle length and overall length?
Handle length measures the handle, and overall length measures the whole tool. The listings here give a handle length for five tools and an overall length of 101.5 cm (about 40 in) for one. The two figures should not be set directly against each other.
Which materials do the listings mention?
The listings name heat-treated steel and tempered steel with a protective coating for heads, and steel or aluminum for handles. Not every tool lists both, so a blank means the material was not stated. The listings do not compare materials, so this page does not either.
What do the warranty lines say?
Three listings describe a lifetime warranty against material and workmanship defects. The other three say lifetime warranty without stating what it covers. Read each one as worded, since the wording differs from listing to listing.

Sources

  1. Corona. https://coronatools.com/products/gt-3244. Accessed 21 October 2026.
  2. Corona. https://coronatools.com/products/gt-3234. Accessed 21 October 2026.
  3. Corona. https://coronatools.com/products/gt-3050. Accessed 21 October 2026.
  4. Corona. https://www.burgonandball.com/products/corona-extendahandle-lightweight-garden-weeder. Accessed 21 October 2026.
  5. Corona. https://www.burgonandball.com/products/corona-extendahandle-lightweight-garden-hoe-cultivator. Accessed 21 October 2026.
  6. Corona. https://www.burgonandball.com/products/corona-comfortgel-extended-reach-2-prong-weeder. Accessed 21 October 2026.

How this page was made

  • Written with AI assistance from the sources listed on this page. AI is never the source of a fact.

How we work